GMAT Club

Hourly Services Reviews

For those who have identified specific needs and require focused advisory services, we offer "A la Carte" services.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
302
4 star
11
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 314 reviews
February 17, 2019
blkoone

Joined: Apr 02, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q44 V46

Hire Nisha ASASP

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I come from a non-traditional background and wanted to bring on a consultant to help round out my profile. After shopping around, it was abundantly clear that Nisha not only was competent and knowledgeable, but also that she is incredibly friendly and fun to work with. It took almost no time for me to completely buy into her wealth of knowledge and trust that her input and direction was always correct for my situation. She was incredibly quick turning around essay critiques, often sooner than the company's stated 48 hour turn around time. She was also incredibly supportive along the way and judicious with her billing, which made me more and more likely to seek her advice on even the smallest matters. I applied to 4 schools and was admitted to all of them, including receiving a scholarship offer from one of my reaches. There is no way I would have been able to achieve this without Nisha. Can not give her enough stars!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 01, 2019
nvs2110

Joined: Jun 01, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q48 V45

Huge value-add to my application!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I absolutely loved working with Kate, and could not recommend her more!!

I purchased 5 ad-hoc hours to start for 5 schools, intending to use them primarily for essay review. I ended up purchasing 5 more hours later in the process for more essay review / interview prep. Even though I had a good idea of my "story", we started out with brainstorming, which was actually very helpful. Kate pushed me to think of strong, personal examples and worked with me to bring them through in my essays. When editing my essays, Kate gave very tactical recommendations for what elements were essential/nice to have/missing, which I really appreciated. Kate was extremely helpful during interview prep, and she definitely asked the hard questions, which prepared me well. I got interviews for 3 schools and did a mock practice with her for each one of them.

Kate always provided quick and thorough responses to my emails, which I really appreciated during the stressful application period. Moreover, she would always get edits back to me as scheduled or even earlier.

At the end of it all, I'll be going to Wharton, which was my first choice, and couldn't have done it without Kate's help. I would highly recommend Kate for those applying from any industry or function!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 01, 2019
woody93

Joined: Sep 27, 2016

Posts: 51

Kudos: 20

Katharine Lewis made a top business school a reality!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I first approached Katy through a free 30 minute consultation and immediately knew I needed her support and experience throughout the application process. Katy was the one consultant who truly boosted my confidence that I could meet my target programs despite self-reservations around my GRE score and relatively young age. I chose to purchase the 5 hour package. I knew which schools I wanted to apply to and wanted some guidance around essays, resumes, and mock interviews. One of most important, yet sometimes overlooked document is the resume. I was struggling immensely to fit all my experience in one page. Katy provided timely and efficient feedback, and provided insider guidance into what schools look for in a resume. She helped me fit what I wanted in one page. Then came the essays! I first started with a robust brainstorming document and gave my first drafts to Katy. What Katy truly excels at is allowing you to retain your own words and template, but optimizing it in a way that resonates with schools. Every essay I wrote, I retained 100% my thoughts and beliefs and Katy helped me articulate that in an efficient manner. Lastly I conducted a mock interview with Katy. She came prepared with school specific interview questions and gave me tangible feedback to improve upon after the mock interview. Katy has a knack for capturing real-time guidance and providing you that document to serve as a guidance moving forward. All in all, working with Katy was the best investment I made. I knew from the first free consultation that Katy would not only be my consultant, but a genuine mentor looking to help me achieve my dreams. I was able to get admittance and several interviews in the top 20. Without Katy's guidance, this entire process would have been exponentially more stressful. Choose Katy, you won't be disappointed.

Read More

January 30, 2019
mmanriquez954

Joined: Mar 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q45 V39

Working with Liza was the best decision I could have made

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Background: Male, 680 GMAT, service academy grad with a 3.45 GPA, 5 years as a military officer.

Results: Stanford (R), Michigan (R), Dartmouth (WL), Yale (A), Cornell ($), UT McCombs ($), Rice ($)

Why Liza: When I made the decision to apply for a full-time MBA, I knew that I did not want to have any doubt as to whether or not I did everything in my power to receive an acceptance. Without having anyone in my family or inner circle that went through this process, I thought using an admissions consultant would be my best course of action. I spent several hours on calls with consultants from different agencies over a few weeks trying to find the right fit but did not feel that any of them were sure bet.

That all changed when I had my call with Liza. I felt a connection with her within the opening moments of our discussion and knew that she was the one with whom I wanted to work. I trust my instincts, but I nevertheless did additional research on her and her previous work with MBA applicants. I was not surprised in the slightest to see that she had a flawless 5-star rating across multiple sites, and her clients reinforced the observations that I noted from my initial consultation. I honestly felt that I would be more prepared armed simply with Liza’s insights in one 30 minute call than I would be with countless hours and dollars spent on another consultant.

Throughout my application season, I frequently traveled overseas for long periods of time so I had to go for a more strategic application approach. I decided on the Hourly Services package in order to focus on brainstorming and unraveling my story with Liza. The work that we did together in crafting my story for the “Why Stanford?” and “What Matters Most to You?” essays was integral to my own ability to articulate why I wanted to pursue an MBA now, and what I could bring to the table if I received an acceptance. She always gave me pointed feedback that was instrumental to my application. Liza is almost like a personal trainer in that she pushes you, never more than you can handle but certainly more than you could do on your own.

The entire process of brainstorming and essay iterations with Liza served as the foundation for the work I did in the subsequent months. In the end I cast a wide net and applied to Stanford, Michigan, Dartmouth, Yale, Cornell, University of Texas, and Rice and received interview invitations to all of them. I was rejected by Stanford and Michigan, waitlisted by Dartmouth, accepted into Yale, and received full scholarship offers to Cornell, University of Texas, and Rice.

Liza has continued to guide me through my decision making process post-admittance, and I am beyond grateful that I had her as a resource. I would undoubtedly and wholeheartedly recommend her to anyone considering using a consultant. I truly cannot thank Liza enough for her time, her guidance, and her encouragement. I always enjoyed our conversations, and I know that I am better today because I worked with her.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 26, 2019
E2100

Joined: Oct 29, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
760 Q49 V44

Kate is Awesome! Incredibly Responsive and Insightful

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I purchase the a la carte hourly services through mbaMission, and worked exclusively with Kate. I utilized my time with Kate primarily for refining my application essays’ narrative structure, grammar, and highlighted stories. I also used an hour of time for a mock interview via webcam. Kate was amazing to work with and was a huge reason for my success during Round 1 last year.

I strongly believe that Kate's advice and suggested edits to my application essays were incredibly beneficial, as some of my initial wording was repetitive, and I sometimes had individual sentences that didn't fit the overall theme of my essay. She was very honest in her feedback and wasn’t afraid to let me know when certain aspects of an essay just didn’t work. She also had a great deal of knowledge of each school I was applying to (six in total!). This info made my "why MBA" (aka how will our school help you with your post-MBA) story incredibly detailed and more importantly, personalized, for each school I applied to.

Kate was incredibly responsive to the many emails I sent to her for advice, and her suggested edits to application essays I sent her were always returned on time in regards to mbaMission’s standard turnaround time on essay feedback/edits. As I was applying to so many programs in Round 1, it was a necessity to work with someone who was professional and able to get back suggested edits to me as quickly as possible. Kate was all that, but also incredibly friendly and had a good sense of humor.

I also used one hour of my purchased time to conduct a mock interview with Kate (for CBS). We conducted the interview via webcam, ran down a handful of common CBS interview questions, and then discussed the interview and points of improvement. Kate was able to identify a few points of improvement and my actual interview ended up being quite similar to our mock interview.

Ultimately, I received interviews for all six of the schools I applied to, and received offers from three schools (with merit based aid from two of them!). I withdrew my applications from the other three, but I’m confident I would have received offers from all of them.

Overall, I thought Kate was vital to my success in Round 1, and I’m glad I decided to work with her all throughout the application process. I was so satisfied with her advice, that I purchased additional hours twice! For any applicants applying in Round 3 this year, or applying the next admissions cycle, I cannot recommend Kate and mbaMission enough!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 25, 2019
dartmouth12

Joined: Jan 25, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Liza works-- and fast! Worked great for this reapplicant

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I applied to 5 top schools the previous year, got a few interviews, but didn't end up getting admitted to the programs I really wanted to go to.

When I was reapplying, I really wasn't sure what was wrong, and what I could do to improve. Was it my GMAT score? Essays? 'Story'? GPA? Extracurriculars? The way I described my current job? Rather than apply blind again, I decided to speak to five consultants who had helped friends and got their free 30 minute consultations.

Liza was by far, the best of those five conversations. Even in that initial session, she was thoughtful, insightful, and gave me actually useful feedback that I could immediately put to use. Even had I not engaged Liza further, that 30 minute free call was the most helpful advice I had received in the whole application process.

I ended up purchasing a package of hours from Liza, and I'm glad I did. She pushed me with tailored feedback on my essays, and forced me to really examine the choices I had made and why they made sense. The essays, in the end, were absolutely still mine-- I wrote every word-- but her feedback was crucial in taking them from just okay to really personal and compelling.

She also helped me prep for the HBS interview by reading through my whole application and putting together some mock questions. She helped me get into the right headspace.

In the end, I got into HBS and got waitlisted at Stanford (the two programs I applied to Round 1). Liza was great the whole way through!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 21, 2019
TJ1992

Joined: Jun 18, 2017

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Self-reported Score:
680 Q44 V40

Excellent Service!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Jen was very helpful to me throughout the application process! While I did not get accepted to my number one school, I knew it was a reach from the start. However, I got into all three of the other schools I applied to. I am very happy with the result, especially the essay revisions and the interview preparation. The interview prep gave me a lot of confidence going into each interview, and some of the questions I was asked were verbatim what she asked me in the mock interviews. Furthermore, Jen always responded promptly to any questions I had throughout the process and was always in touch. She was extremely helpful and her assistance greatly reduced any stress I felt during the process - and even made it enjoyable at times. I first heard about mbamission and Jen from a good friend of mine and I highly recommend their services and Jen in particular!

Read More

January 21, 2019
KFHouston

Joined: Dec 10, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
730 Q50 V38

I couldn't have done it without Liza!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was originally working with a different consultant who left the firm after reviewing 2 versions of my essays. I was rather uncertain of the outcome at that time since my GMAT score of 720 wasn’t competitive in the Chinese applicant pool. I also come from a non-typical feeder background: engineering degree spending 6 years in market intelligence consulting firm serving the petrochemicals market. Oh, and did I mention I was pregnant during the application process while working full time?
Liza to the rescue! She not only reassured me that my case would be taken care of, she also offered to review my previous version of essays – I had the hourly service so I didn’t feel I lost any time with the transition of consultants. The one thing I appreciated the most during this process was that Liza was very honest when she gave comments and feedbacks, and she always offered her insight on how I could improve my essays. When there were times I was not able to capture the theme, she listed examples and expressions to help me comprehend the concept and execute. As a non-native English speaker, I found this extremely helpful. Liza also helped me prepare my video essay with Kellogg and Yale SOM, as well as my interview with Yale. After each session, I significantly improved the ways I laid out and phrase my answers. I found her feedback very useful (as I got admitted to all the programs I was invited for an interview).
Admission to Kellogg and Booth, plus scholarship from Yale SOM were perfect testimonies of how amazing a consultant Liza is. I don’t think I could have done so many schools in such a short period without Liza’s help. I will highly recommend her to anyone seeking professional help in their MBA application!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 17, 2019
JoshCarm

Joined: May 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q49 V39

Pleasure to Work With

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Jen was a pleasure to work with. She was timely in responses and provided expedited reviews to meet tight timelines, even when not required to do so. She provided valuable perspective and ideas in framing “my story”: highlighting strengths and mitigating potential “weaknesses”. She was also caring and personal. I would definitely work with her again.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 12, 2019
apk008

Joined: Dec 16, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q40 V44

Great Experience!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was very back and forth on hiring a consultant for quite a while - obviously, it is a financial commitment, but then again so is B-school! After speaking with a few consultants I was pleasantly surprised by mbaMission's honesty and integrity. I saw great reviews for Rachel Beck, so I requested to have her as my consultant.

I signed up for an hourly rate and I think this was the best decision for me. I felt confident in my writing abilities and felt that I mostly needed help with determining a direction for each of my essays. I was glad I had Rachel to help me with everything along the way, from responding quickly to questions to brainstorming essay concepts. Rachel was very knowledgeable about the application process and always had creative ideas when we spoke.

It was helpful for me to take thorough notes when I spoke with Rachel to refer back to later, and Rachel was always very direct about what tasks should be done between our conversations. The application process is long and tiring - don't underestimate it! You will have to put in a lot of time, but having a consultant can accelerate the process if you are committed.

I would highly recommend using Rachel Beck if you are interested in hiring a consultant!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

102 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for mbaMission