GMAT Club

Hourly Services Reviews

For those who have identified specific needs and require focused advisory services, we offer "A la Carte" services.
5.0 /5 Average Rating
5 star
302
4 star
11
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Based on 314 reviews
March 21, 2019
rjaffe

Joined: Mar 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Katy made it happen!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a career academic and Latin teacher transitioning into sustainability management, I was not your typical MBA applicant. I was making a major career shift and I’m confident that, without Katharine’s guidance, I would not have had the success I did. In just the initial consultation, Katharine helped me create a focused and direct action plan. She guided me through the creation of a narrative that both highlighted my achievements and captured my personality.
Once the applications were in, Katharine led me through mock interviews and the development of an elevator pitch. She boosted my ability to speak with confidence and clarity about my goals. Before interviewing for USC Marshall—to which I was recently accepted!—Katharine provided me with resources for both school-specific and general information and advice. Currently, I’m waitlisted for NYU Stern and Katharine continues to provide support and aid from reviewing update emails to admissions to creating a game plan to get off the waitlist.

Read More

March 19, 2019
catch121590

Joined: Nov 18, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Dan Richards - Highly Recommended

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I was referred to Dan by a friend and used him on an hourly basis for my applications. He was absolutely fantastic throughout the entire process. He was always honest (which I really appreciated), helpful, and responsive. Dan molded my essays and made them that much more detailed, poignant, and meaningful. For my resume, Dan transformed what I thought to be a polished resume to a business school resume ready to be submitted. Throughout the revision process, it was clear to me that Dan's suggestions and feedback were worthwhile to my entire application. Dan consistently set realistic expectations and guided me through a constructive timeline. In the end, I got into my top choice, and I know that I could not have done it without Dan's help. I would recommend him to anyone interested in applying to business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 03, 2019
Willmml

Joined: Mar 03, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q47 V45

Highly recommend Jen at mbaMission

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly, highly recommend Jen Kedrowski. After working with Jen, I got accepted into Columbia! She was an amazing consultant and partner throughout my entire application process. I worked with Jen on two applications on an hourly basis, and also practiced for one of my interviews with Jen. I was able to work on two applications with fewer hours than I expected because Jen was so efficient, and every call was productive. She gave excellent advice and feedback on each piece of my app, from resume to essay to interview. In addition to having incredible experience to help me improve every aspect of my application, Jen personally was always encouraging and supportive and an absolute pleasure to work with.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 27, 2019
j9y6l

Joined: Feb 27, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q39 V38

Still Valuable Despite All My Research

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I attended a mbaMission webinar about Harvard Business School's 2+2 program. It was a fairly small group (less than 10 people) and it was at 9PM but Jessica Shklar was able to keep the presentation engaging and relevant. She provided specific examples to show the differences between a strong and weak essay. She was extremely attentive to the specific group's needs by answering all of our questions.

I felt like she was able to provide immense help to my application despite the fact that I had done an extreme amount of research on the MBA admissions process at Harvard Business School, especially the 2+2 program. I decided to follow up with a 30-minute consultation with Jessica to discuss my profile. Within that half hour, she was able to help me craft a narrative for my holistic application and even provided me with structural tips on my essay - without even reading my essay. She wasn't afraid to point out the weakness of my application, which I'm glad she did because I have heard of some admissions consultants who do their best to only make their clients happy. I wanted someone who was honest and catered to my profile, which she was able to do!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 27, 2019
ShaMelul

Joined: Sep 26, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Rockstar Advisor!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

The 30 minutes spent with Jessica Shklar were, by far, the best 30 minutes spent in my whole MBA application process. I was astonished by how prepared Jessica came to the consulting session. She not only read thoroughly my resume and application details, but also prepared recommendations based on what I requested advice on prior to our meeting. The meeting was highly effective, touching on every single concern I had. I obviously wanted more after that meeting, and joined her 2+2 HBS presentation webinar. What can I say, she gave all the information I’ve been struggling to put together over the past 5 months in one hour. The presentation was both informative and practical, as every other interaction I’ve had with her. I’m very glad I found Jessica, and would highly recommend her to anyone.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 25, 2019
lizziebird15

Joined: Feb 22, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
610 Q38 V36

Thank you!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Thank you so so much Jen Kedrowski for helping me with my essays! The hour-by-hour was a great way to get targeted help in the areas that I needed it most, particularly essay review. Your insight was constructive, and I believe helped me get into my dream school. Thanks again for all your insight and words of encouragement.

I highly suggest starting with the free hour-trial so you can find a tutor that helps you the most. I found this helpful, and allowed me to make a smart decision working with Jen. That being said, I have heard all the tutors are great.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 24, 2019
2ndhalf

Joined: Apr 04, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

You Need Admission Consulting Service Even You Are Senior Management

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

My daughter recommended Jessica to me. At first I thought that I did not need consulting service because I had more than 20 years business leadership experience in top global IT companies in SAP, Oracle, Dell, Fujitsu, Compaq and DEC. After first 30 minutes call with her, Jessica changed my opinion completely. She reviewed my profile with very much deeper insights. She supported me to know more about who I am, what I want and how I should do for my goal. And she recommended several programs fitted to me shortly after our talk. I am very impressive in her rich experience and expertise in admission consulting and her quick and strategic thinking and professional consulting methodology. Then I purchased Jessica’s hourly services and experienced more about Jessica’s great value to my application and career development. I believe, I could not get offer from London Business School “Sloan Master in Leadership and Strategy” without Jessica’s strong and prompt supports. After I joint the Sloan program, I found that more that 60% of our classmates are master holder and there are several PhD holders. More of classmates have more than 20 years management experience. Jessica supported me to analysis my strength and weakness, how to present myself, how to write well essay in short time. My recommend to other EMBA, Sloan program and executive program applicants is that Jessica’s excellent consulting service is valuable to your time and money although you are senior and experienced in business management.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2019
stoiczoan

Joined: Nov 23, 2016

Posts: 180

Kudos: 108

Verified score:
770 Q49 V47

A friend, philosopher and guide for the grueling app journey

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Coming off a zero admit season I was desperately seeking good advice and counsel for my reapplication season. As part of my search, I reviewed the list of consultants on mbaMission website and decided to set up a 30 min complimentary call with Melissa. I was intrigued by her experience leading the admissions committee at an actual business school, and wanted to get her thoughts on my candidacy and approach.
While I decided to go with an Indian consultant for a school package due to budgetary constraints, I didn't want to miss out on Melissa's expertise and decided to go for hourly services with her.

I loved Melissa's direct but positive & encouraging approach to my questions, and while initially I was apprehensive about how the whole "hourly" service will work, I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of value I was able to derive from it. I used Melissa's expertise in fine-tuning my resume, reviewing essays for a couple of schools, getting answers to miscellaneous questions, and I finished it with a mock interview. For those who may be apprehensive about spending 4-5K to get such expert advice as a full package, I'd say the "hourly service" is a great way to not miss out on some very valuable support and guidance.

Melissa's feedback on essays and story structure was crucial (specially for Fuqua's 25 things) and she also suggested some super edits to resume bullets which were minor changes but greatly increased the impact of the bullets. The mock interview was also very helpful as we focused on pace and tone apart from the stories. I also sought her advice on things like interviewing with alum vs on campus and it was reassuring to make those decisions knowing that I was not doing it alone.

I had final offers from Chicago Booth, Kellogg & Duke Fuqua and I have no qualms in admitting that Melissa had a material effect in ensuring these great results.

Read More

February 21, 2019
jmarker

Joined: Feb 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Great experience with Melissa Blakeslee

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Prepping for the GMAT and GRE (I took both) was an exhausting process. I've always been a solid student (GPA 3.8), but I kept missing the mark on these standardized tests. I wasn't very happy with my scores, and was thinking of applying round 3, to start school in fall 2018. Melissa was instrumental in my decision to wait, get the best scores I possibly could, not rush the essays, and apply round 1, in order to start school in fall 2019. I followed her advice and will be starting school in about 6 months at USC Marshall. Her honest assessment of my candidacy was so appreciated. I don't know if I would've made the cut had I applied in round 3 last year.

When it came to essays, I didn't know where to begin. Melissa really helped me hone my focus, and again, her honesty was greatly appreciated. One of my essays was so far away from where it needed to be that Melissa declined to give notes on it, and instead suggested that I start over with a different approach (she specified the approach). I was paying hourly, so I'm very grateful that she didn't waste time correcting an essay that was so poor to begin with.

Melissa is awesome in terms of communication, time management, and giving helpful, honest feedback. I would highly, HIGHLY recommend.

Read More

February 17, 2019
hopefulZoo

Joined: Feb 06, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Admitted to GSB, Wharton, and Kellogg

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Katharine was critical in my preparation for business school applications! Her schedule fills up, so I locked her in as a consultant in January of 2016, when applications were not submitted until September of 2016.

In my case, Katharine's most influential interactions happened early in the process. She was the perfect river guide in self-reflection and discovery. Who am I? What people, events, and decisions have made me this way? What drives me? What do I want? I think I wrote up about 30+ pages of personal history before our first full working session. She knew more about me than most people ever do.

Because of her influence, I felt like I was able to tap into my most authentic self and write genuine, compelling essays. This led to admission to Stanford, Wharton, and Kellogg. Harvard declined to interview. I matriculated at the GSB and will graduate this year!

Give Katharine a call and see if she's a fit for you! I'm soooo glad I did.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

102 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for mbaMission