GMAT Question of the Day - Daily to your Mailbox; hard ones only

It is currently 18 May 2019, 23:35

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Close

Request Expert Reply

Confirm Cancel

760, but do I need to retake?

  new topic post reply Update application status  
Author Message
TAGS:

Hide Tags

 
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 27 Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Location: United States (UT)
GMAT 1: 760 Q48 V46
GPA: 3.56
760, but do I need to retake?  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 05 Jul 2017, 20:36
I took the GMAT for the first time last week and scored a 760. 46 Verbal (99%) and 48 Quant (69%). When I took the test, the unofficial report had the Quant as 71percentile, but when I received my official report this week it had slid down to 69%. My average during my practice exams was 50.

I am applying to HBS, Sloan, and Tuck.

Do I need to retake the GMAT to get a higher score on the quant or am I okay as is?
Board of Directors
User avatar
V
Status: Stepping into my 10 years long dream
Joined: 18 Jul 2015
Posts: 3629
Reviews Badge
Re: 760, but do I need to retake?  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 05 Jul 2017, 23:25
1
peterb wrote:
I took the GMAT for the first time last week and scored a 760. 46 Verbal (99%) and 48 Quant (69%). When I took the test, the unofficial report had the Quant as 71percentile, but when I received my official report this week it had slid down to 69%. My average during my practice exams was 50.

I am applying to HBS, Sloan, and Tuck.

Do I need to retake the GMAT to get a higher score on the quant or am I okay as is?


Hi peterb ,

760 is an awesome score. Congratulations. I don't think you should be bothered about giving the exam again.

Work on other parts of the application now and make them as strong as your GMAT score.

All the best. :)
_________________
My GMAT Story: From V21 to V40
My MBA Journey: My 10 years long MBA Dream
My Secret Hacks: Best way to use GMATClub | Importance of an Error Log!
Verbal Resources: All SC Resources at one place | All CR Resources at one place
Blog: Subscribe to Question of the Day Blog
GMAT Club Inbuilt Error Log Functionality - View More.
New Visa Forum - Ask all your Visa Related Questions - here.
New! Best Reply Functionality on GMAT Club!
Find a bug in the new email templates and get rewarded with 2 weeks of GMATClub Tests for free
Check our new About Us Page here.
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
User avatar
G
Joined: 24 Nov 2015
Posts: 498
Location: United States (LA)
Reviews Badge
Re: 760, but do I need to retake?  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 05 Jul 2017, 23:42
1
You have an exceptional score in verbal and a good score in quant.It is a very rare score in verbal
The colleges you wish to apply are going to be considering the whole package you offer them,not a single component of it.
As for the problem you have with your quant score you can surely show some experience, undergrad gpa or quantitative skills you would have acquired over the time
Don't take me the wrong way but it may happen that you won't be able to score the same in your next attempt.
Veritas Prep Admissions Consultant
User avatar
G
Joined: 12 Aug 2014
Posts: 2763
Re: 760, but do I need to retake?  [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 06 Jul 2017, 16:41
Wow what a score! Congrats on a great job. I would say don't worry about retaking, a 760 is a tremendous score and its not worth it to retake for a few percentile points on quant. Focus on your application at this point and put together that winning applicaton!
_________________
Veritas Prep | Veritas Prep Admissions Consultant

Find the expert who’s right for you. Meet our team!
Veritas Prep Reviews
GMAT Club Bot
Re: 760, but do I need to retake?   [#permalink] 06 Jul 2017, 16:41
Display posts from previous: Sort by

760, but do I need to retake?

  new topic post reply Update application status  


Copyright

GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group | Emoji artwork provided by EmojiOne

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.