GMAT Club

Stacy Blackman Consulting MBA Admissions Reviews

Since 2001, Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC) clients have been admitted to every top business school worldwide, often with merit scholarships. SBC delivers results, as shown through the #1 ranking on MBAinsight, BeattheGMAT, CrushtheGRE, ExamStrategist and #1 out of 11 firms for our team by PoetsandQuants.

 

Team

SBC is the only MBA admissions firm with a complete panel of former Admissions Officers from every top MBA program in-house. The SBC team has MBA expertise at every top MBA program, US and international, and understands career paths in every industry, traditional and non- traditional. 

 

Matching

SBC deeply values mentorship within its client engagements and limits the number of clients for each consultant, engaging with clients only after evaluating candidacy strength and differentiating qualities. Our matchmaking process includes criteria such as track record with target schools and proficiency with the applicant's career path, demographic, interests and character qualities. We intentionally offer a high-touch, limited client-per-consultant experience, limiting consultant capacity so that you can be assured of consultant engagement at the most critical times.  This concierge matching allows SBC to activate the right fit consultant and ensure a mutually enthusiastic relationship.  

 

Our Model

SBC’s engagement model of a dedicated consultant with additional review by our AdCom team is the most robust of all firms. SBC offers unlimited time with a carefully selected Primary Consultant, allowing for full accountability and dedication. SBC also believes in checks and balances, and thus developed our Flight Test, which is a complete review by a former Admissions Officer. This structured feedback from a former AdCom member mimics a real AdCom review and helps to ensure that a candidate’s application is most compelling to the target audience. We also offer an "hourly first" option for applicants who prefer to test the waters initially before engaging in our All-In service.

 

Request a Free Advising Session

SBC offers a limited number of free advising sessions weekly via phone and/or email, based on availability. Contact us for a free consultation with an SBC Principal. We look forward to learning about you.   

 
 
Stacy Blackman Consulting Deal Page
5.0 /5 Average Rating
Based on 658 reviews
+ 1 non-rated reviews

Submit a review

Stacy Blackman Consulting MBA Admissions Reviews

Stacy Blackman Consulting MBA Admissions All-in Services
 $4850  $4850
Reviews
530
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Stacy Blackman Consulting Consultants

Caryn (SBC)
Reviews
69
Average Rating
5.0
Margaret (SBC)
Reviews
54
Average Rating
4.9
Bill (SBC)
Reviews
50
Average Rating
5.0
Sherry (SBC)
Reviews
44
Average Rating
4.9
Erika (SBC)
Reviews
25
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

659 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
February 13, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I'm not sure I would have had success with my business school applications had it not been for Caryn. She was an easy choice after a phone conversation- she gave me the immediate sense that she knew what she was talking about in all application aspects, unlike some other consultants from other firms I had spoken to. I didn't even know where to begin, and she was able to provide me with a reasonable schedule so that I could finish applications to 4 schools in about two months. I was plagued with the fear that I'd be a very generic consulting candidate, and she was hugely helpful in identifying the best essay topics that would showcase a variety of my unique experiences. Perhaps most importantly, our mock interviews together made me a million times more comfortable and confident when it came to the real thing!

It was such a relief working with someone whose opinion I knew I could trust throughout the process. I now have admissions offers to choose from as well as two scholarship opportunities!

Read More

February 08, 2013
Anonymous

Posts: 1

Kudos: 0

I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting. My experience with them was very positive from beginning to end. I have an interesting background in some ways, but also an average background and very average numbers. The team and particularly my consultant, Lisa, took my information and helped me understand how to present my stories and background in the best possible way. Looking back I know that I submitted an application that represented me - BUT the story is told in a way that I would not have thought of on my own. I was admitted to 3 of the 4 schools that I applied to (Stanford was a no.) and going in I really thought that even one admit was a dream.

Lisa was funny, damn smart and I really respect and trust her - all key to our successful relationship. I used their resource center a lot as a reference tool as well.

Read More

January 18, 2013
schokhany

Joined: Aug 08, 2012

Posts: 5

Kudos: 5

I wanted to share my thoughts on Stacy Blackman

I engaged Stacy Blackman early this year for 1 school comprehensive package. My consultant was Bill.

I was amazed how Bill helped me shape my Essays. We must have gone though at least 6-8 rounds of editing for each essay until it perfect. His interview prep was awesome, in fact the Ad-com asked me a a lot of questions which he had prepped me for.

I applied to Cornell and NYU Stern in October'12, and got accepted at both the Schools.

Although I have 16+ years of work experience, I wouldn't have secured an admission without Bill's help.

Read More

October 23, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I worked with Caryn at SBC on an hourly basis. Caryn's familiarity with the application process for Kellogg is unmatched, and her guidance on recommendation letters, essays, and interview preparation is well worth the investment for any top-5 MBA program. The attention to one's personal situation and tailored advice provided is premium for any admissions consulting service. I interviewed 4 different services before selecting SBC and Caryn. Additionally, responsiveness during the entire course of your engagement with SBC is very fast. Overall I give SBC and Caryn both 5 stars. I highly recommend engaging SBC if you have clear goals and a strong background, but may be unfamiliar with the MBA application process or not sure how to best position yourself. The school by school insight offered is the true value for this consulting service - it gave me a huge leg up in effectively and honestly presenting myself to adcom.

Read More

July 04, 2012
EuroEng

Joined: May 18, 2012

Posts: 31

Kudos: 13

Self-reported Score:
760

Called up SBC after I got wait listed at Booth (in round 3). I had put my application together with very little outside help and was disappointed that I didn't get in. I felt I needed to bring an outside perspective, from someone with a proven track of record, and this is how I called up SBC.

The service was pretty much what I was expecting: I signed up for the 2hr consulting package and within hours, I got contacted by Kevin and started working with him on making a video and writing a supplemental essay. Kevin quickly identified the weak spot on my application and suggested several elements to highlight on the video and additional essay. We went back and forth for a few days until we were both satisfied with the result. In all, Kevin was fairly responsive and helped me meet a very tight deadline for the additional material (about 1 week to submit the additional materials).

My only chagrin is that the service is a bit pricey (and I didn't get the impression that my consultant was a former dean of admission at some school) and it has a normative tendency: essays tend to conform to what admission consultants think they should conform to. But at the end, those are fairly insignificant details. All that matters is that the service is effective, right?

Read More

June 20, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

After working with another well known service on an hourly basis and going nowhere, I enlisted Amanda from Stacy Blackman to help me with my applications.

We started out hourly and it was like a breath of fresh air. I immediately started to make progress and see the application develop. I converted to a comprehensive package and although that first check was a big one to write it was worth every penny - I honestly would have paid double.

Amanda's guidance made the applying to bschool process so much easier - I finally understood how to write my essays and felt so much more confident about the final result. I was admitted to four schools, received one full ride and couldn't be happier with my experience.

Read More

May 27, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

The entire team at SBC was very strong. From initial matching to highly frequent interaction with my consultant, SBC knew what it took to produce a strong application.

My consultant was Andy Pelletier and I could not have found a better one. He is a superb admissions coach who exudes a perfect blend of personality and professionalism. What makes him truly great, is his tireless focus on adding value to your application. No matter if you are on your umpteenth iteration of your essays, Andy candidly pushes, probes, questions, and refines, all in the pursuit of crafting that truly authentic and meaningful application. He is extremely responsive too, doing whatever it takes to meet your deadlines. If you are looking to not only produce a stellar application but also come to know yourself on a deeper level as a result, then SBC / Andy is your guy. I highly recommend SBC at large.

Read More

May 25, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I applied on my own and had no luck. Then a year later applied with the help of the team at Stacy Blackman Consulting. I am now going to Harvard.

I could go into details about the service but I think those two statements sum it up. I would highly recommend them because they know what they are doing. At the end of the day you want to go with a service that works. Their service works and it works well.

Dawn was able to cut right through all of the information I provided and map put what i should use to answer questions. That saved me time and helped me focus.

Read More

May 22, 2012
Anonymous

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I signed up with Stacy Blackman after about a month of research. I spent a lot of time on the phone with several firms and when I was finally leaning towards Stacy, I then spent a good 7-10 days screening who I would specifically work with. I think this investment up front, making sure that I had the right consultant for me, was critical to me being really satisfied with my experience. I saw at least four bios of different consultants and spoke with three of them on the phone. When I spoke with my consultant, John, I knew I had found the right person for me to go through this experience with. All of the consultants that I spoke with were competent, smart, experienced, but I did not get as good of a sense that we would click. And I really wanted someone that I could communicate with, toss ideas around. So I proceeded with John and had a very good experience working with him. I also have to give props to Julie, who I worked with up front to get settled in. She was very patient and happy to spend the time with me to make sure it was right. I had little interaction with Ms. Blackman herself outside of a few emails, but I can say she runs a very tight organization. Ultimately I was happy with my choice but I think this is personal so you have to take the time to do your own research.

Read More

May 30, 2014
neverstop

"I am an executive leader with 13 years of executive management experience who applied to several EMBA programs only to be denied two years in a row. I was very discouraged and frustrated when a friend recommended I contact Stacy Blackman Consulting. I contacted SBC and found everyone in the firm kind and helpful. During the first phone call with my consultant, Sherry Holland, I was sure that she is the one who going to make it happen. Her support, expertise and guidance were impeccable. She was a confident and a secure base for me as well as a knowledgeable consultant who put all her time to ensure my success. This year with Sherry's help and rigorous preparation for my interview, I sailed through it with confidence and was admitted to my dream school without even having to take the GMAT!

Without Sherry's help, I know I would not have been admitted. I recommend SBC and Sherry Holland if you want a true professional who will support you and always be honest with you. She always said: " I am going to tell you what you need to hear, not necessarily what you want to hear in order to make you a stronger candidate.It is proven to me that no other consulting firm understands the admission process like SBC dose."

May 18, 2012
sternoman

Joined: May 18, 2012

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

I worked with Stacy Blackman Consulting and was admitted to 3/5 schools. I also received 2 scholarship offers. My consultant, Amy, was great to work with - she has a great sense of humor and is no bullsh*t. She tells it like it is and helped me put together a far better application than I ever could have on my own. She also irritated me at times when I sent her something that I thought was great and she told me it wasn't. But I needed that feedback and respected her directness and honesty. I sweated a lot working with her - she is demanding and pushed me to bring out my best. The SBC flight test was also an awesome benefit of working with these guys. I think that extra piece of feedback improved my application and gave me a sense of confidence when I submitted. In summary - I am in and have no regrets at all about investing a comparatively small amount of money up front to get it right. I recmmend SBC and already have to many friends, actually.

Read More