GMAT Club

Vantage Point MBA Consulting Services Reviews

Vantage Point is the only firm to take a 360° approach to the application process.  We provide the perspectives that matter on your MBA applications from experienced consultants who graduated from M7 programs, M7 alumni interviewers, and former adcom. By providing you firsthand insights from people who understand the process from the inside out, we help you develop your most competitive and differentiated applications possible, maximizing your chances of admission to the most selective MBA programs. Vantage Point – gain from our perspective!

LIST OF SERVICES
  • Comprehensive Packages
  • The "Pre-Pack" Getting Started Package
  • Hourly Services
  • Interview Preparation
  • Ding Analysis
Vantage Point Deal Page

Vantage Point MBA Consulting Services Reviews

Vantage Point Comprehensive School Package
$4500
Reviews
58
Average Rating
5
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Vantage Point consultants

Melody Jones
Reviews
25
Average Rating
5.0
Meredith (Vantage Point)
Reviews
22
Average Rating
5.0
Katherine Canning
Reviews
10
Average Rating
5.0
Eileen Chao
Reviews
5
Average Rating
5.0
Molly Schnettler
Reviews
5
Average Rating
5.0

Reviews:

75 Reviews
5.0 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
June 14, 2017
brownwalker

Joined: Aug 22, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Personalized and effective preparation @Vantage Point

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

About myself:
I am an Indian engineer working with Schlumberger for the past 5 years. Coming from a highly competitive pool (the Indian Male Engineer) the application process was extremely challenging as I had to work to differentiate myself from the competition.
My GMAT was 780 (on the second attempt, first was 700. Gave the attempt again in the min period of 16 days. Just goes to show how random the GMAT exam can be)

Services Taken:
I had taken a Comprehensive School Package with Melody and hourly services with Katherine.
I applied to the top 6 schools in R2 2017.

Why I chose Vantage Point:
I had taken free consultation calls with several highly rated consultants. I ended up choosing Vantage Point because of the following reasons:
1. Cost effective - Although most top consultants are priced roughly the same, Vantage Point was at the lower end of the spectrum, which definitely works for someone working on a tight budget
2. Personalized attention - I had my first call with Melody and had an instant connect as I was able to relate with her. Although the call was scheduled to be only half-hour, the actual call was well over an hour. She was able to identify kep aspects of my story and identify which colleges which colleges would be the best for me.
I decided to go ahead as I felt understood and really enjoyed the personalized and friendly nature of the conversation. This was a refreshing change from the commercial and often matter-of-fact nature of the other companies.

The Process and overall comments:
Really liked the way they identified my story and had frameworks so that I could remember key events from my past.
The essay reviews were also were useful, as I was able to create a professional and ultimately winning essay after 3-4 reviews. This was especially beneficial as I was short on time during my application time. Kudos to both Katherine and Melody for adhering to timelines even in the crunch time (last moment before application submission) and keeping me on track during the process.

Special shout out to Katherine for her guidance in wharton application specially, as I really feel I would not have got this admit without her advice. Her comments on the essays and especially before the interview/GD were very useful for my preparation. Often direct and clear when the essay was not flowing or answering the prompt accurately, she helped me craft the essay to a winning one after 3-4 reviews. Note that the colleges I did not convert happen to be the ones which I did not have time to review to her satisfaction- just goes to show how effective her opinion was.

Conclusion / Summary:
Totally go ahead with Vantage point ( both Melody / Katherine) for a great friendly personalized and effective application process!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 23, 2017
hedychen

Joined: Jan 03, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Got into HBS because of Meredith

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Meredith was absolutely integral to my business school application process. It's not an exaggeration to say that I couldn't have done it without her. I got into HBS, my dream school, in large part because of her. She really went above and beyond what I envisioned the role of an admissions consultant to be. Yes, Meredith provided invaluable guidance on aspects of my application, but she was also there for me as a supportive mentor and friend during a stressful time. I originally planned on applying round 1, but then switched to round 2, and Meredith was completely open to helping me through both rounds, even though it meant more time, effort and energy. She has an unbelievable enthusiasm and she really spent a lot of time getting to know me, and that made a huge difference in my application. Meredith is extremely responsive and there every step of the way. I absolutely would not have gotten in without her and working with her is the best decision I made during the entire application process.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 09, 2017
snkrhed

Joined: Apr 27, 2010

Posts: 100

Kudos: 256

The Only Consultant You Need (Seriously)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

After being burned from one of the larger consulting houses, I was wary of hiring another admissions consultant. However, as a re-applicant, I knew that I needed to find a professional who was going to be honest with my application, and I was referred by a friend to try Meredith and Vantage Point.

Meredith understood my story well and helped me craft my story in a way that truly brought out the essence of who I was as a candidate. Her guidance was invaluable throughout the entire experience and really helped me understand the mindset of the adcom as well as how to approach the application process.

Her honesty and guidance throughout the admissions process led to interviews for all of the schools I applied to (including schools that I reapplied to) and multiple admits.

Thank you so much Meredith!

Read More

April 04, 2017
deetdeet

Joined: Jan 11, 2017

Posts: 39

Kudos: 3

A+!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by post count [?]

I had an amazing experience working with Meredith and Vantage Point. Right from the beginning, she was dedicated to crafting my story and gave me the perfect amount of time, resources and guidance to make my MBA aspirations a reality. One thing that stood out about Meredith and Vantage point was their accessibility and their genuine desire to see you succeed. I was able to call Meredith many times, stressed and panicky about deadlines or decisions and she was always responsive and a calming influence during an extremely hectic and anxious time. I talked to various MBA consultants before choosing Vantage Point and I can objectively say that unlike others, VP doesn't look at you as a project or a statistic to bolster their business but instead as someone they want to see succeed. They went above and beyond for my application, going so far as to give me feedback on my other applications and essays which is just what any MBA applicant needs. I heartily recommend VP and hope that you have the privilege of working with Meredith!

Read More

March 16, 2017
rms1234

Joined: Mar 15, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V41

Love Meredith and Vantage Point!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I decided to work with Meredith last summer after my friend recommended working with her after being admitted to Kellogg. Since then, Meredith has been a true pleasure to work with. Although we both had super busy schedules (I was getting married, studying for the GMAT, and working a demanding schedule), she helped me pace out my application prep to give me enough time and guidance to create my storyline, update my resume, write my essays, etc. without (much) additional stress to my already-hectic life. I don't think I could've made it thus far without Meredith's overwhelming support throughout the 6+ months. And now, I've been admitted to my dream school, and I am so so excited! Thank you for your help, Meredith!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 07, 2017
sf6

Joined: Mar 07, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
750 Q47 V47

Admission and Scholarship with the help of Vantage Point!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Vantage Point MBA Admissions Consulting helped frame my story and provided the advice I needed to not only gain admission, but receive a full scholarship to a top-tier MBA program.

In our early sessions, my counsellor Melody quickly assessed my goals and helped me narrow down the field of schools to those that most aligned with my needs. She also gave me crucial advice when it came to developing an optimal application strategy (How many schools? Which rounds? Etc.) This was important because it allowed me to expend my energy more efficiently during the burdensome application process.

More importantly however, working with Vantage Point gave me perspective on myself as a candidate and helped me develop my story. After a few conversations and working through several thinking aids I had developed a solid understanding of how to present myself in my applications. Armed with a clear perspective of myself and my story, my applications became relatively straightforward.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 09, 2017
Qtlwc

Joined: Feb 06, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
770 Q50 V44

Great experience working with Melody

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

As a reapplicant, I have had 3 different consultants help me with my applications, and Melody at Vantage Point is definitely the best one out of the three I have had. She was extremely helpful and exceeded my expectations. She is very knowledgeable and experienced so she knows what I should focus on for each school. At the same time she is detail oriented and I always feel confident with my application package when I work with her. She is also very professional and dedicated to her clients. As someone applying from China, we have quite a bit of time difference and she was always willing to accommodate. Compared to the other consultants, I feel that she truly cares about my success and was devoted to helping me get in the school that fitted me the most. I highly recommend Melody to anyone who is thinking about applying.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 04, 2017
rao2p0

Joined: Apr 26, 2016

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q50 V37

A must-have Mentor!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Meredith is absolutely fabulous! She has changed the consultant-client equation to a more friendly mentor-student relationship. This is important because after all you are applying to become a student! This helped me recollect and share a lot of my life stories that eventually led to a strong application. Meredith was very focused throughout the process and constantly questioned how the Adcom would perceive the application. With years of experience, she's a master at critiquing essays and helped me write simple short stories with high impact. Most importantly, she was quick in turning any feedback and was there on the phone when most needed. I would highly recommend Meredith to anyone applying to business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 12, 2017
2019AdmitWoo

Joined: Jan 05, 2017

Posts: 2

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
780 Q50 V51

Success!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Melody Jones of Vantage Point on 4 applications for Round 1.

She and her partner just started Vantage Point, and I ultimately chose to work with them over other more established firms because she showed a dedication and focus to a very personalized experience. This was proved out during our work together.

We started late, but she proved an excellent resource for distilling my non-traditional story into an application that would prove compelling to adcomms.

She was incredibly thorough in her analysis of my materials, providing feedback that enabled me to develop materials that were authentically mine, but still ensured I hit the many benchmarks of a successful application.

I'm a crunchtime worker and had a chaotic work/travel schedule, but she made a point of making availability at odd hours and for often tight turnarounds-- it was a level of dedication that made me feel that she was thoroughly invested in my success.

I was accepted to two schools with scholarship offers from both.

I'm pleased with my experience and the results of working with Melody. I would highly recommend working with her to future applicants-- my only advice is start working with her sooner and don't wait.

Read More

January 04, 2017
mefp9276

Joined: Jan 04, 2017

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Couldn't have done it without her!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I was really torn at the beginning of my process about whether or not to use a consultant - Did I need one? Was it worth the money? Could I get into one of my target schools without help? Would I never get in regardless? Looking back, I can confidently say that working with Meredith was well worth it, and definitely necessary throughout my process.

There were two things I appreciated the most about working with Meredith - the first was her honesty, and the second was how approachable she was. She always told me when my essays or resume needed more work, sounded cliche, or other pitfalls I feared a consultant wouldn't be as truthful with me about. I felt it was that honesty that I was paying for and really needed, so I appreciated that I could trust her responses and feedback. The second thing I valued about working with Meredith was how approachable she was in terms of asking random (and sometimes panicked and silly!) questions about any and all pieces of the process.

In addition to the things I appreciated about her working style, I found Meredith's proficiency when it came to helping me craft my story, put together a perfected resume, and edit my essays was far past what I expected it to be. I felt like she really listened to me when I spoke about my goals and reasons for going back to school and reminded me of those pieces to my story when I got wrapped up in the minutia of editing or got lost down a certain path. Additionally, she did a great job of keeping me on schedule, which I really need :)

Lastly, when I first signed up with Vantage, Meredith explained to me that this was a more "hands on" approach to admissions consulting and that they had stripped out the salesforce in order to give really personalized attention to each client. I really felt that devotion throughout working with Meredith, and would give her responsiveness an A+.

In the end, I got into Kellogg and couldn't be happier with the results of the process! Have many many thanks to give to Meredith for helping me on the way.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.