GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep GMAT Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course
 $1699  $1624
Reviews
394
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1399  $1324
Reviews
111
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
19
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$1250
Reviews
80
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
80
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
80
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Instructors

Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
26
Average Rating
4.7
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8
Keith Blume
Reviews
22
Average Rating
4.9
David Mahler
Reviews
18
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

639 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
February 01, 2020
invinceablekid15

Joined: Sep 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
590 Q36 V35

Absolutely Amazing (Despite a Score Drop)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Manhattan Prep and my instructor, Shelton, were absolutely amazing (and I am writing this even though my score dropped by 20 points post my first test attempt, which has nothing to do with Manhattan Prep - I am a terrible standardized test taker). I would highly recommend you start the course six months prior to your planned test date to fully benefit from everything the course offers, which provides invaluable tips, testing strategies and insights into the exam. The study guides and all the resources outside of the classroom are fully enough (no need for additional resources) to get a good score. I mentioned that my score actually dropped by 20 points from my first attempt (my first attempt was only based off of self-study for about three months), but it was compounded by the fact that I took my second attempt literally before my ninth session (trying to meet the early deadlines) so I did not get the benefit of the "full" course. That is why I write to start the course six months prior to test day as that is what my good friend did and he was accepted to UPenn (and recommended me to the Manhattan Prep in-person session). The quant strategies are particularly helpful (it drills down to even knowing when to bail out so you have more time to spend on those questions within your range of ability and even best guessing strategies).

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 14, 2020
Zack1317

Joined: Oct 01, 2019

Posts: 5

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Mark Sullivan was great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Houston, TX USA

I worked with Mark Sullivan one on one to fine-tune a few skills after completing the Manhattan prep in-person/online nine-week course. Mark was great! He was extremely organized and helped me find out how to squeeze a few more points out of the test. His nightly homework assignments kept me super focused until test day, and his advice about how to prepare in the week/days leading up to the test truly helped me go into the test with the confidence that I would get the score that I was hoping for. Mark was a great instructor and I highly recommend him to students who are looking to further their GMAT studies.

Read More

January 05, 2020
spurohit11

Joined: Sep 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Jamie Nelson is a great instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

I took the GMAT online class with Jamie. Jamie is a great instructor. She does a great job of providing you tricks and tips to ace the GMAT. My score jumped 90 points from the beginning of the class. She is also does a good job providing student specific strategies. I have test accommodations and she was able to provide me strategies specific to my accommodations. She also keeps in touch with you after the class to provide you any additional advice or resources you may need. I highly recommend taking the class with Jamie. I can also say that not all instructors at Manhattan prep are the same and the instructor you get makes a huge difference. Before choosing your class be sure to look up reviews on the instructor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 03, 2020
soccerball1348

Joined: Jul 28, 2019

Posts: 12

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
730 Q48 V42

I finally did it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

I started my GMAT journey in the summer of 2019. I took a practice test and scored a 640-- I wasn't sweating it because I had been out of school for a few years and I knew I could brush up on the quant rather quickly (or so I thought). Just for reference, I have a masters degree in chemical engineering.
Kaplan
I signed up for private tutoring with Kaplan online 10 hour course. I watched some of the lessons, but quickly got bored. They were slow.. I did not feel my tutor was very helpful and about halfway through I started searching for alternatives. (I've had good luck with Kaplan for LSAT (scoring a 167) but this does not seem to be their strength).

In Person tutoring
I did two months of in-person tutoring and was able to increase from 640 practice tests to a 690 real GMAT test. I took the GMAT 3 times (690,Cancelled,690) and wasn't making much progress. I was having timing issues in the quant section (either too fast or too slow). I often panicked when I got to a quant problem that I felt I should know, but couldnt think how to solve. I was frustrated with this tutor (who also crossed some professional boundaries) because usually standardized tests are a strength of mine, but the GMAT was winning.

Manhattan Prep Advanced online course

This is where Mark comes in, after 3 attempts at the GMAT, I was willing to try something new. I signed up for the advanced online class through Manhattan prep. I typically stay away from online group study classes because it's easy for me to get distracted completely defeating the point..

Mark's advanced online class was excellent. It skips the basics and jumps right into how to increase your score. He keeps everyone engaged by "cold calling" which kept me from playing on my phone and I learned a lot from my classmates. What I learned especially on verbal was that while I may have gotten the right answer, it wasn't necessarily always for the right reasons!
I also challenged myself to make sure I did ALL the homework in between the lessons. I really enjoyed the Manhattan prep video lessons that they had on topics. I watched all of them multiple times. However, my mistake here was that I did not do all the practice tests. Therefore I still struggled with timing and test stress when I took my 4th GMAT a month after the class finished.
My score improved (finally!) to a 710 (Q44, V44). My verbal score benefited the most from the advanced online class and I went from a 40 to a 44.

Mark Sullivan Private Tutoring
I was happier with the 710, but still not satisfied. I really felt I had more I could do on the quant. I reached out to Mark to see if he was available to help me while I prep for my 5th and final GMAT about a month later. Luckily he was and we got started right away.
Working with Mark for private tutoring after the Advanced Online class was absolutely the right choice for me. I had the strong base (from doing all the homework) and I knew how he taught. We were able to build on that really quickly and I improved every tutoring session. He had me practice every day on timing and I did regular practice tests. The private tutoring was great because then we could really expand on my unique questions.

Thanks to Mark I had a 40 point improvement in my GMAT score!

Read More

January 02, 2020
pat1hughes

Joined: Jan 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
700 Q42 V44

Manhattan Prep - Jeffrey Vollmer

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I found this course to be a worthwhile investment. I signed up primarily for accountability, but I also found the content and strategies very helpful. Jeff is a very good instructor - from a teaching perspective, as strong as any college professor I have experienced. To learn the test and stay motivated/accountable, this course is worth the cost and time commitment.

My quant did not improve significantly throughout the course but I owe this to a lack of studying on my part. Jeff provided us with intuitive explanations of tough math problems, but I did not invest the time on my own to master them. I think a bit more time could have been devoted in the course to reviewing the signals/triggers for certain patterns/tells in quant problems, but there is a certain point where you just need to teach yourself the content if it's been a while since you have memorized basic math.

The focus on timing and strategic approach to taking the test was very valuable. The "Yellow Pad" timing method is extremely helpful and I used it religiously during my exam. This course taught me that getting a handle on timing and the related nuances of an adaptive model is half the battle.

Overall, very pleased. Would recommend to a friend - particularly someone who is very committed to attending business school.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 02, 2020
wilsonsean10

Joined: Jan 02, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q46 V39

Excellent

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact

Location Online

The Manhattan Prep online course I took was taught by Emily Madan. She was very detail-oriented, insightful and all around helpful in my GMAT pursuit. I started the class in August of this year and studied/did homework religiously. My original score was a 610 and quant was my biggest weak point. Emily was great in every class and always challenged us. The format is typically a topic from a combination of verbal/quant/IR and then example questions on that topic. She gave us plenty of strategies to use on test day. I would highly recommend using Emily to anyone wanting to improve their scores. I went from a 610 to a 690. It took me 4 months of hard studying and it definitely paid off. I would recommend Manhattan Prep/Emily to anyone looking to strengthen GMAT scores.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 11, 2019
jroe

Joined: Dec 06, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q45 V41

Great Experience with Reed Arnold

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I worked with Reed at Manhattan Prep NYC from May-August 2019. I came in to tutoring scoring around 560-610 on a few practice GMATs I had taken. In September, I ended up scoring a 710 (45Q, 41V)! Reed's patience, clever strategies/tricks and expertise were a critical part of my GMAT journey. I am by no means a natural test taker, but with persistence and Reed's guidance I was able to exceed my target score. Not only is he fun to work with, but he is great at tailoring each lesson exactly to what you need (sometimes he knew what I needed better than I did) for both Quant and Verbal. I highly recommend working with Reed if you are looking to improve you GMAT score. I can genuinely say that not only did his expertise greatly help my score but also that I looked forward to every session! It's been a pleasure.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
November 01, 2019
andi119

Joined: Nov 01, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q46 V44

Manhattan Prep Live Online (9 Week Course) - Highly Recommend

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

After talking with friends and co-workers and reading reviews online about available GMAT prep courses, I decided to take the Manhattan Prep Online Course. I particularly wanted to take the course with Jamie because of all the great reviews I had read about her. Having completed the course, I believe that those reviews were definitely warranted. Jamie is a great instructor – knowledgeable, friendly, and engaging. Throughout the course she offered very helpful advice on timing and strategies, and her many “Jamie-isms” really helped ingrain the concepts being taught. Jamie was also very responsive outside of class if I had questions or concerns. She provided detailed feedback after each CAT and put together a personalized study plan during the Post-Course Assessment that I think really enabled me to optimize my final phase of studying before I took the GMAT.

In terms of the overall course, I think the classes were very well structured, and I appreciated the wealth of available resources. The course includes access to the Manhattan Prep strategy guides, along with great tools such as Navigator, Interact Videos, and the Manhattan Prep GMAT app. There is a lot of homework before each class, but I appreciated the homework in part because it helped me keep a good study schedule.

If you decide to take this course (which I would highly recommend), one thing you should note is that Manhattan Prep’s CAT exams are generally harder than the actual GMAT, so you shouldn’t be too discouraged when you take them. Since I was used to the CAT exams, I was much more comfortable when I finally took the real GMAT.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 13, 2019
wmorris

Joined: Sep 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q46 V41

Manhattan Prep Private Tutoring - Joshua Braslow

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I highly recommend private tutoring with Joshua Braslow. After scoring 650 (Q: 42 / V: 37) on my first attempt I signed up for private tutoring with Joshua and retook the GMAT after three private tutoring sessions (~4 weeks). On my second attempt, I accomplished my goal and scored 710 (Q:46 / V: 41). Joshua helped identify strengths/weaknesses and targeted strategic areas for improvement to help me raise my score in a short amount of time. In the tutoring sessions, Joshua coached me on content as well as strategy and I felt well-prepared during my second GMAT attempt. Could not have achieved the score I was hoping for as quickly as I was able to without Joshua's help. I highly recommend using Joshua regardless of where you stand in your studies. He will help set goals and provide useful insights that will help you accomplish those goals.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
October 10, 2019
ryank

Joined: Oct 10, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
720 Q48 V41

Manhattan Prep In Person Course Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

After about 5 years away from school and looking for a career shift, I chose to take the Manhattan Prep 9-class in person course in preparation for the GMAT. After graduating from school in 2014 I took the GMAT as a baseline with the anticipation that I may want to go to business school in the future: I scored a 630. For the next five years I spent zero time thinking about the GMAT, although I did work in a field that is fairly quant heavy. That should give a fair amount of background on where I stood going into the MP course. I chose to take the in person course based on the consideration that a set curriculum and a sense of accountability to show up to class each week would help me study more. I think this was the right choice for me.

The course itself was presented in a manner that made it comprehensible for anyone with even a minimal mathematics background. The structure of the course is such that it builds on itself week by week and homework is meant to introduce concepts that would be expounded upon in the next class. I found the course to be critical to my performance on the exam in such that all concepts for answering questions, strategies, and problem type were discussed at nearly all levels of difficulty in class. The course follows a basic outline: present a concept, work through an easy version of the problem as a class, work on a harder version alone, mix in that concept with others in a problem set. I found this manner of learning to be helpful and allowed time for recalling mathematical processes learned years ago.

As for the homework/workload, it is paced at a fair clip but not breakneck speed. I spent about 10 hours a week on homework and performed one 4 hour practice test every 2-4 weeks. The course uses a MP website to direct tasks, readings, problem sets, etc. This clearly set out study plan helped keep me on track and direct my studying. I found this program to be most useful in that it set foundations and built upon concepts learned earlier in the course. One final product that MP offers is interactice videos that explain different concepts/strategies. This was particularly helpful to review as a refresher after finishing the course and just before sitting for the exam.

Finally, my instructor, Jeff, was phenomenal for a variety of reasons. Principally, his presentation of concepts was articulate and easily understood by all members of the class. It was clear based on the variety of backgrounds of my classmates that we were not all starting at the same level. Jeff understood this and was skilled in presenting the material and answering questions in a manner everyone understood. Jeff was always available to help after class or through email. Many times I emailed Jeff with a problem or concept I was struggling on and would have a video back from him talking through the problem within 24 hours. I would recommend him to anyone.

I ended up taking the exam once and scored a 720 (48Q, 41V). I took this improvement from a 630 years ago in large part to be due to the MP curriculum and the instruction and availability of Jeff.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.

190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT