GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep GMAT Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course
 $1699  $1624
Reviews
398
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1399  $1324
Reviews
113
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
19
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$1250
Reviews
80
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
80
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
80
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Instructors

Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
26
Average Rating
4.7
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8
Keith Blume
Reviews
22
Average Rating
4.9
David Mahler
Reviews
19
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

645 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
May 26, 2020
tabush

Joined: May 26, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
640 Q39 V38 (Online)

Manhattan Prep - Dave Mahler

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the 9-week course with Dave Mahler in New York and had a great experience. I had already taken the GMAT once before, but did not get my desired score and decided that the best way to improve would be to sign up for a class. Dave was very helpful through the entire process and made the course really engaging (not an easy task for a 3-hour evening weekday slot). Even more impressive is how attentive Dave has been (and continues to be) even after my official time with the course has concluded - he has offered to continue helping me by analyzing my CAT exam scores and hop on phone calls to help talk through ways to improve. Thanks to Dave and the staff at Manhattan Prep for the helpful study materials and personalized instruction

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 21, 2020
amyc

Joined: Mar 21, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Mike Morgan - Incredible Manhattan Prep Instructor!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took Mike Morgan’s Manhattan Prep course in Philly. Mike was invaluable in helping me prepare for my GMAT exam. He was an incredible teacher throughout the 9 session course. I went into the course with no background on the GMAT and came out feeling very prepared. He ensured everyone in the class really understood and was comfortable with the content, while keeping class interesting and fun. Mike helped me prioritize the weekly work and was always available via email and text. He continued to serve as a resource in my studies after the class ended. Mike helped me achieve beyond my target score!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 20, 2020
kash1995

Joined: Oct 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
650 Q35 V44

Recommend Mike Morgan if you are taking the class in Philly

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I recently completed the GMAT in person course from Manhattan Prep and mike was the instructor for my class.

We only had 3 people in the class and mike made the learning process very practical..

He taught us the different test taking strategies and we solved 3-4 questions applying these strategies in class as we learned them

He is very easy to talk to and this really helped me with asking him a lot of questions.

Three months after my course, I am still in touch with him to get his help and talk about my preparation strategies.

Overall, I was very satisfied with the class. The 3 hours I spent there every Saturday flew by as it was a really practical environment where we were constantly learning and solving questions.

I haven't taken the official GMAT yet but the scores here are from my latest practice test

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 13, 2020
jason12345

Joined: Mar 13, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
710 Q47 V40

100% Recommend Ryan McGorman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the Manhattan Prep 9-session GMAT prep course with Ryan McGorman, and I really appreciated the emphasis on both the Verbal and Quant sections. Ryan focused on providing effective test taking techniques and overviews of exam content.

After completing the course, I signed up for additional tutoring sessions with Ryan. In these sessions, we focused on tackling my weaknesses and clarifying strategies for time management. With his help, I was able to score a 710 on my first try at the GMAT, and I know the strategies I learned will help me score even higher next time.

If you're looking for a top notch GMAT tutor, Ryan is your guy!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 01, 2020
talyonperry

Joined: Mar 01, 2020

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710 Q48 V38

Worth the Investment

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 100 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

The Manhattan prep curriculum is great and Jamie was the best instructor! They have plenty of practice set available that you wont run out. The class sessions were especially valuable in helping me. I got behind on the homework, so the live online classes were really what kept me focused and engaged each week.

Before I took the class I was just doing practice problems in the official guide but seeing minimal progress. MP's curriculum really helps you to attack the test the way that the writers are trying to teach you. That is ultimately what contributed to my 100 point increase from my first 2 practice test to the real GMAT.

So glad I did it! Made my goal of a 700+ score a reality!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 26, 2020
cdalh

Joined: Oct 06, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 1

Verified score:
740 Q48 V44

Online + Coaching Session Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 190 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jeff Vollmer

Location Online

Jeff was my instructor for the 9-session online course and coaching sessions. I highly recommend Jeff as an instructor!

He was engaging and thorough. He's great at pushing you to use multiple methods to arrive at quant solutions and helping you identify key clues in SC and CR problems. Several times after getting problems wrong, I had "aha" moments as he explained what the questions were really asking.

I started the course having done no prior preparation and with no review of any quant concepts since I graduated 5 years ago. I scored a 550 on my first practice test but was confident that I could make big improvements based on methods presented in the first few classes and making shifts in the way I thought about problems.

The course really facilitated this by providing a structure to my studies and integrating nicely with the course materials. Jeff was also great at providing encouragement when I was getting discouraged after plateau-ing at 650-620. He was very helpful in analyzing my practice CATs and identifying subjects and areas to focus on. Jeff also helped me devise a practice CAT schedule with specific goals for each CAT in the weeks leading up to my exam that I was able to use to guide my studying.

I am extremely pleased with this course and with Jeff's tutoring. Would highly recommend!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 01, 2020
invinceablekid15

Joined: Sep 04, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
590 Q36 V35

Absolutely Amazing (Despite a Score Drop)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Manhattan Prep and my instructor, Shelton, were absolutely amazing (and I am writing this even though my score dropped by 20 points post my first test attempt, which has nothing to do with Manhattan Prep - I am a terrible standardized test taker). I would highly recommend you start the course six months prior to your planned test date to fully benefit from everything the course offers, which provides invaluable tips, testing strategies and insights into the exam. The study guides and all the resources outside of the classroom are fully enough (no need for additional resources) to get a good score. I mentioned that my score actually dropped by 20 points from my first attempt (my first attempt was only based off of self-study for about three months), but it was compounded by the fact that I took my second attempt literally before my ninth session (trying to meet the early deadlines) so I did not get the benefit of the "full" course. That is why I write to start the course six months prior to test day as that is what my good friend did and he was accepted to UPenn (and recommended me to the Manhattan Prep in-person session). The quant strategies are particularly helpful (it drills down to even knowing when to bail out so you have more time to spend on those questions within your range of ability and even best guessing strategies).

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 14, 2020
Zack1317

Joined: Oct 01, 2019

Posts: 7

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
750 Q49 V42

Mark Sullivan was great!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Houston, TX USA

I worked with Mark Sullivan one on one to fine-tune a few skills after completing the Manhattan prep in-person/online nine-week course. Mark was great! He was extremely organized and helped me find out how to squeeze a few more points out of the test. His nightly homework assignments kept me super focused until test day, and his advice about how to prepare in the week/days leading up to the test truly helped me go into the test with the confidence that I would get the score that I was hoping for. Mark was a great instructor and I highly recommend him to students who are looking to further their GMAT studies.

Read More

January 05, 2020
spurohit11

Joined: Sep 21, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
Canceled

Jamie Nelson is a great instructor

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 90 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Jamie Nelson

Location Online

I took the GMAT online class with Jamie. Jamie is a great instructor. She does a great job of providing you tricks and tips to ace the GMAT. My score jumped 90 points from the beginning of the class. She is also does a good job providing student specific strategies. I have test accommodations and she was able to provide me strategies specific to my accommodations. She also keeps in touch with you after the class to provide you any additional advice or resources you may need. I highly recommend taking the class with Jamie. I can also say that not all instructors at Manhattan prep are the same and the instructor you get makes a huge difference. Before choosing your class be sure to look up reviews on the instructor.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
January 03, 2020
soccerball1348

Joined: Jul 28, 2019

Posts: 17

Kudos: 1

Self-reported Score:
730 Q48 V42

I finally did it!

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by gmat club tests [?]

Improvement 40 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

I started my GMAT journey in the summer of 2019. I took a practice test and scored a 640-- I wasn't sweating it because I had been out of school for a few years and I knew I could brush up on the quant rather quickly (or so I thought). Just for reference, I have a masters degree in chemical engineering.
Kaplan
I signed up for private tutoring with Kaplan online 10 hour course. I watched some of the lessons, but quickly got bored. They were slow.. I did not feel my tutor was very helpful and about halfway through I started searching for alternatives. (I've had good luck with Kaplan for LSAT (scoring a 167) but this does not seem to be their strength).

In Person tutoring
I did two months of in-person tutoring and was able to increase from 640 practice tests to a 690 real GMAT test. I took the GMAT 3 times (690,Cancelled,690) and wasn't making much progress. I was having timing issues in the quant section (either too fast or too slow). I often panicked when I got to a quant problem that I felt I should know, but couldnt think how to solve. I was frustrated with this tutor (who also crossed some professional boundaries) because usually standardized tests are a strength of mine, but the GMAT was winning.

Manhattan Prep Advanced online course

This is where Mark comes in, after 3 attempts at the GMAT, I was willing to try something new. I signed up for the advanced online class through Manhattan prep. I typically stay away from online group study classes because it's easy for me to get distracted completely defeating the point..

Mark's advanced online class was excellent. It skips the basics and jumps right into how to increase your score. He keeps everyone engaged by "cold calling" which kept me from playing on my phone and I learned a lot from my classmates. What I learned especially on verbal was that while I may have gotten the right answer, it wasn't necessarily always for the right reasons!
I also challenged myself to make sure I did ALL the homework in between the lessons. I really enjoyed the Manhattan prep video lessons that they had on topics. I watched all of them multiple times. However, my mistake here was that I did not do all the practice tests. Therefore I still struggled with timing and test stress when I took my 4th GMAT a month after the class finished.
My score improved (finally!) to a 710 (Q44, V44). My verbal score benefited the most from the advanced online class and I went from a 40 to a 44.

Mark Sullivan Private Tutoring
I was happier with the 710, but still not satisfied. I really felt I had more I could do on the quant. I reached out to Mark to see if he was available to help me while I prep for my 5th and final GMAT about a month later. Luckily he was and we got started right away.
Working with Mark for private tutoring after the Advanced Online class was absolutely the right choice for me. I had the strong base (from doing all the homework) and I knew how he taught. We were able to build on that really quickly and I improved every tutoring session. He had me practice every day on timing and I did regular practice tests. The private tutoring was great because then we could really expand on my unique questions.

Thanks to Mark I had a 40 point improvement in my GMAT score!

Read More


190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT