GMAT Club

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep provides students with the skills and strategies essential for success. There are higher standards for what defines a competitive GMAT score today. We have no magic formula, no silver bullet, no empty guarantees. Instead, we have three basic principles that separate us from other test prep: the best teachers, the most advanced learning approach, and a focus solely placed on the GMAT.
Save up to $100 on Manhattan Prep courses + $250 bonus with GMAT Club
Manhattan Prep GMAT Deal Page

Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Course Reviews

Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT 9-Session In-Person Prep Course
 $1699  $1624
Reviews
382
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online
 $1399  $1324
Reviews
107
Average Rating
4.8
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT MGMAT Interact
 $999  $899
Reviews
16
Average Rating
4.6
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$1250
Reviews
74
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$2450
Reviews
74
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now
Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring
$4600
Reviews
74
Average Rating
4.9
Buy Now

Most Reviewed Manhattan Prep GMAT GMAT Instructors

Jonathan Schneider
Reviews
29
Average Rating
5.0
Avi Gutman
Reviews
24
Average Rating
4.8
Keith Blume
Reviews
22
Average Rating
4.9
Mark Sullivan
Reviews
21
Average Rating
4.6
David Mahler
Reviews
17
Average Rating
4.9

Reviews:

614 Reviews
4.8 Average
Rating
Filter by Rating
All
sort by
December 03, 2018
Gui2005

Joined: Oct 08, 2018

Posts: 1

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
730 Q48 V41

Dear GMATClub community!

I am so excited to share my GMAT experience with you all. I've read countless testimonials (looking for insights or tips) over the past 4 months, anything to help break the 700 point barrier.

If you are searching for a quick fix, or a silver bullet, stop reading right now - I am not that guy. My 730 score came from a lot of smart studying (see below), the Manhattan Prep course, guidance from my instructor Keith Blume (he rocks!) and support from my friends and family. I can give you all some tips that I wish I had taken advantage of much sooner.

First and foremost, if you are in the Chicago area, I highly recommend taking advantage of the 9 week Manhattan Prep course with Keith Blume.

I took my first practice exam and then realized that I needed professional help. I didn't not know the answers to most quant problems, but even more concerning was that I had no clue what was being asked (divisibility, prime factors, evenly-spaced sets - get out here!). To make matters worse, I not only bombed the questions I gave my best efforts, but also ran out of time. I had to hit the pause button many times just to see the remaining questions (btw - hitting the pause button during practice exams is a horrible practice - DON'T DO IT - you'll only cheat yourself from improving your test day strategy).

Manhattan Prep - Hands down, the best thing I can say about the program is that you will not be surprised in any way during your exam. Like most people (even those with 700+ scores), I got close to 50% of the questions wrong, but Manhattan Prep helped with 2 key components.

1. Identify the concepts being tested (the study guides are really well-organized for this)
2. QUICKLY determine a strategy (Work Backwards, Smart Numbers, Algebra approach - Keith was very instrumental in this aspect). Percent change or rate/distance problems, for example, would sometimes take me 4 minutes to solve, until I learned that there were multiple different ways to solve the problems or to eliminate 2 or 3 options.

Ok so a little bit amount the progress during my 4.5 months of prep

GMAT ONLINE PRACTICE EXAM - 580 - Jun 20
M-CAT 1 - 580 40q 30v - Aug 31
M-CAT 2 - 630 45q 32v - Sep 21
M-CAT 3 - 640 44q 34v - Oct 5
M-CAT 4 - 600 43q 31v - Nov 1
M-CAT 5 - 640 40q 37v - Nov 21
GMAT - 730 48q 41v - Nov 27

Biggest takeaways I wish I had started using earlier

I know it's been said before, but it's worth repeating - simply plowing through countless problems won't help improve your understanding of the concepts. Doing a 1000 problems a month is a waste of time. It is much more efficient if you fully understand the problems you face. Understand not only how to get the correct answer, but also understand why the other options were incorrect (especially useful for verbal).

Time yourself - You should become a master at the difference between 90 seconds, 120 seconds and lastly 180 seconds (bail!!!) Keith showed me through assessment reports where my score was negatively impacted by poor time management. The more I learned, the more questions I could correctly answer. The paradox was that my scores were dropping, Keith made it very clear that I should treat every question as if it were an investment. Good investment - ok, put some more time into it. Bad investment - Get out as soon as possible!!!

Error Log (spreadsheet) - During the first week of the course you come across a file to download to keep track of work. I completely dismissed this file (big mistake). I would say it's a waste of valuable time to keep track of every problem you face. Once I start to keep track of the problems that I got wrong or those I took longer than 2.5 minutes (you should time every single problem initially and then maybe blocks of problems later), I felt my confidence go up. The tricky part of the preparation is that you go through each subject individually, but unlike the study guide, the exam changes subjects from question to question. I would catalog the questions I got wrong or took too long to solve and then use the Manhattan Navigator solutions guide to learn how to solve the problem. Then after 2-3 weeks I would have roughly 30 quant and 30 verbal questions. I would try to solve these 60 questions for a second time. Many times, I would still get half of these questions wrong (or over 2.5 minutes). Typically, after 3 or 4 attempts I was able to correctly solve all the questions. Using the error log and writing out, in my own words, the mistakes I was making and also writing down, in my own words, which steps I should take to solve the problem was very helpful. I didn't do the most problems, but every single problem I did, I eventually mastered.

The Manhattan course also has many interactive videos (which are awesome and as entertaining as instructional videos can be). Several videos test your ability to identify concepts / question stems / strategies to be used - I highly recommend getting this down pat

It terms of work-load - I covered all the Manhattan study guides (sentence correction I had to re-read) and the OG (just the problem sets). I did all the problems; the Manhattan navigator tool was great to track which problems were still "new" after I had completed the 9-week course.

My CR scores were lagging and eventually I purchased the CR Bible by Power score. I think it is worth while ($25). The CR Bible strategy is different than the Manhattan strategy and for me it made a big difference. Manhattan teaches to read the question stem, before reading the stimulus - I found that reading the question first biased my approached to the problem. I also think the CR bible helped me learn to more quickly identify the subject being tested. An additional resource to improve sentence correction is a free 4 part Youtube series by Veritas Prep - But I recommend watching the videos only after you've completed the sentence correction study guide. The videos are great complimentary resources, but they are not to be used as your foundation in your preparation. I watched these videos twice, once after my 9 week course and then once again 3 days before my exam.

I didn't spend much time on IR (much easier on real exam than Manhattan Prep) or AWA (google chineseburned and do 3 practice essays)

I'm so happy!!! I threw away all my flash cards; now its time to start working on the rest of my applications.


Good luck to you all - If I could get a 700+, so can you

Read More

May 14, 2019
etcring

Joined: Nov 18, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
670 Q39 V41

Manhattan Prep GMAT Tutor - James Brock (500 - 670)

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I could not recommend James Brock more highly as a GMAT tutor. I can confidently say I would never have achieved my target score without him. When I first started out with him I was scoring around 500 and over the course of several months he helped lift my up to my eventual goal of 670.

James' process driven approach to teaching the GMAT was the only reason I was able to lift my score up so significantly. The GMAT is a test that you can achieve the score you want with enough work and the right tools. James Brock is the best - make sure you request him.

If you have concerns about living in a different timezone to your tutor, you don't need to. I live in Melbourne, Australia and James was incredibly flexible with early mornings and late nights his time to work in with my schedule.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 05, 2019
Stephen96

Joined: Jan 05, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
710

GMAT Review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

Ryan was a great instructor who made Saturday morning classes lively (not an easy thing to do) with his passion for helping students improve their GMAT scores and reach their potential. On my first practice test, I was in the 600 range and by the end Ryan helped me raise my score by more than one hundred points. His dedication and willingness to answer questions at any time through email or in class was most helpful. He is more than willing to spend time after class to help you understand a problem or explain a topic in more detail. I highly recommend Manhattan Prep.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
May 02, 2019
Upreet

Joined: Jan 08, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 5

Verified score:
640 Q44 V34

Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring w/ Avi Gutman

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 60 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan GMAT Private Tutoring

Instructor Avi Gutman

Location Toronto, Canada

Avi was incredibly fast at understanding where my thinking was lacking and how I could apply tricks to overcome my shortfalls. By teaching me some tips and tricks for both the Quant and Verbal sections, I was able to increase my score from a 580 to a 640 in less than 4 weeks. If you want a quick increase Manhattan Prep private tutoring is amazing and if you just need a few tutoring hours they can help you set up your study schedule so you are not wasting your time on questions that rarely appear on the actual test. The wealth of knowledge that Avi and the rest of his team have is incredibly valuable and they give you the confidence to perform very well on the test day. I was able to get into both Canada's top MBA programs thanks to Avi's help. Also, Avi does not baby his students so you will be held accountable while getting tons of constructive feedback and he will know if you don't complete your homework between sessions. This helped me really get the most of the 10 hours we had together, HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 29, 2019
BingingOnNetflix

Joined: Oct 31, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
690 Q44 V41

520 to 690 (44Q, 41V, 6 IR, 6.0 AWA) after working with Elaine Loh

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 170 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Elaine Loh

Location Online

I sometimes feel intimidated when I see other reviews for others that are scoring 750+. I hope to score 700+ on my retake in a few weeks, but I am very happy with the score that I received. I am not a brilliant student, nor am I naturally gifted with numbers, I just worked as hard as I could with the Manhattan Prep program. I want to be clear, without Manhattan Prep, and specifically Elaine Loh, there is NO WAY that I would have scored as well as I did.

As the title states, I first scored a 520 on a practice test in December 2018 with a different GMAT test prep company. I used that particular program consistently from October-December of 2018, and I was crushed that I could only score a 520. At that point, I decided that I needed to get serious, and I started the Manhattan Prep instructor led course.

I was skeptical that using a Manhattan Prep instructor led course could really help since I had been working so hard with the other GMAT program. I was completely wrong. The Manhattan Prep materials are simply the best that you can get. I’ve used some different materials from other prep courses, and they were pretty good. However, the Manhattan Prep strategy guides are clearly better than the competition. The online content, including the GMAT Navigator, is phenomenal and certainly worth the money spent. The strategy guides are comprehensive, easy to read, and effective. The course syllabus provided the exact type of structure that I needed to prepare for the GMAT.

However, I think the real difference was the course led by Elaine Loh. I can’t say enough good things about the actual course. When I was taking the class, I had confidence knowing that who I was working with actually scored in the 99th percentile. Elaine was fun, charismatic, and most importantly, she was genuine in wanting to help us score as high as possible. She really took the time to make sure that we understood the material. She taught the class in such a way that I could actually recall specific moments while I was taking the GMAT. I know it sounds weird, but I was actually singing our “peanut butter” words song under my breath while doing the verbal section. My wife laughs at me when I randomly say “when in doubt, get the pronoun out!” And lastly, I specifically recall Elaine telling us to “WORK IT OUT” when doing data sufficiency questions.

Elaine not only taught us the appropriate content, but also the strategy behind the questions---I think this is the real difference between high scores and mediocre scores. She taught us different ways to approach questions, and made sure we understood WHY we worked problems the way that we did. Knowing content will only take you so far with the GMAT. After completing the course and actually taking the test, I’m convinced that anyone can score above a 650 with the right preparation.

In closing, I want to thank Elaine Loh and the Manhattan Prep team for helping me to score as well as I did. This sounds dramatic, and maybe it is, but her course really helped me get closer to my dreams. For 3 long months, I had serious doubts about whether I could make it in business school. I could only see myself working in sales for the rest of my career. However, with Elaine’s help and Manhattan Prep, I can not only say that I WILL go to business school, but I also have a good chance of going to legitimate top business school. Thank you Elaine!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
April 24, 2019
pjij1991

Joined: Apr 16, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
680 Q44 V38

Elaine Loh - Manhattan Prep

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I did a 1:1 tutor with Elaine Loh through Manhattan Prep and feel it was instrumental to my score improvement. She took an advisory role in my progress, checking my study plans and guiding me through my progress.

Elaine taught the content, strategies, and general preparation needed to do well on the GMAT and helped me achieve a 150 point improvement from first practice test to actual score. I was still a bit below my target score in the end, but I feel that Elaine's teaching is the reason why I could even get as close as I did so far. I have decided to retake the exam with additional time with Elaine because I have confidence that she can help strengthen my testing strategies even further to achieve my final target score.

Highly recommend!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 26, 2019
Dreilly

Joined: Jul 28, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
740 Q49 V41

Advanced Live Online with Mark

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

Improvement 80 Points

Course Manhattan Prep GMAT Manhattan Prep Live Online

Instructor Mark Sullivan

Location Online

This course is set up for 5 classes for students who have already achieved a 650 or higher and want to excel into the 700s. I suggest already being familiar with the Manhattan methods to some degree (self study the books or take their other classes), but it’s not 100% necessary as it is all covered in details.

This course was perfect for me. Extremely detailed step by step, problem by problem schedule. A complete roadmap for success. You have a main path to follow with plenty of optional work to fill in gaps. Trust in the program, forget everything you know and do the test the way they teach you and you’ll crush it.

Mark specifically is very engaging. The online atmosphere quickly feels like you are in person. He is polite and very responsive to individual questions during class and after. Cannot tell you how impressed I was with an online class.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 11, 2019
ddells29

Joined: Mar 11, 2019

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Self-reported Score:
720 Q44 V44

Ryan McGorman is an excellent instructor and took me to the promised land

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by school email address [?]

I took a 9-week course with Ryan McGorman and was far from disappointed. On the contrary, I think Ryan is an excellent instructor and was the primary driver behind my score increase. Ryan is patient with those in his class who need some extra time, but can quickly switch into 6th gear for his more advanced students. I appreciated the way that he was able to simplify concepts down to their bare bones.
Ryan demystifies much about the GMAT and enables his students to succeed. It also helps that Ryan is a great guy and is a pleasure to spend a few hours with every Sunday. Thank you Ryan!!!

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system or .edu email address and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
March 10, 2019
William6

Joined: Jan 21, 2018

Posts: 0

Kudos: 0

Verified score:
660 Q37 V42

Great on test strategies and content review

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

I took the 9-week Manhattan Prep course with Jeffrey Volmer (in the D.C./Northern VA area) in winter 2018 and was very pleased with the experience. Jeff is an excellent and patient teacher who always made himself available outside of class hours to answer questions.

The Manhattan coursework and classroom format encouraged self-study. For someone who may not be motivated to study alone and profits from the pressure of having to keep pace with peers, this is a great option. In addition to reintroducing the grammar and math concepts that one will need to ace the test, the Manhattan curriculum emphasizes the strategies a test-taker must use to optimize his or her score under the time constraint and how to recognize and approach recurring “tricks” that the test throws at you. Jeff did a great job of giving equal currency to the test content and strategies.

I started studying for the GMAT without having taken a math course since high school (eight years prior). Given the intensity of the quant, this was my greatest weakness. But the Manhattan textbooks (especially Foundations of Math) provide an overview of the basics and ample drill exercises to help improve on that portion of the test.

I did not take the test for business school so I wasn’t trying my damnedest to break 700 (I didn’t). The programs I applied to also accepted the highest score in each category (Quant/Verbal/IR/Essay) from any test sitting, so I had different incentives from someone applying to an MBA program. If you struggle in one category, I would recommend supplementing the Manhattan coursework with a tutor as you get closer to test date. If you are in the D.C. area, I’m fairly certain Jeff offers tutoring and would make an excellent one-on-one teacher.

Read More

This reviewer has not participated on GMAT Club but it is a REAL person and a REAL review. GMAT Club has verified this test-taker's identity through GMAC/Pearson Vue Score Reporting system and confirmed that this reviewer indeed took the GMAT, is unique, and has not submitted multiple reviews.
February 21, 2019
cosmonv

Joined: Jan 14, 2019

Posts: 12

Kudos: 13

Verified score:
750 Q48 V44

Great option for those who need that last push

REVIEWER IDENTITY VERIFIED by score report [?]

OVERALL: I recommend a private tutor if you're trying to get a top-percentile score, because you'll be able to go over topics that you just wouldn't have time for in a class. It is a much more expensive option, but if you are in a time-crunch I recommend it.

RESULTS: I hired a private tutor after taking the Manhattan Prep 9-week course. I got a 710 after taking the course, but wanted to get a higher score. I took the exam again after a few weeks with my tutor and got a 720. After another few weeks of working with my tutor, I got a 750.

PREPARATION: I had taken the exam once as well as taken a Manhattan Prep course, so I was familiar with the exam by this point. Similar to the class, this requires you to put in a lot of work outside of the sessions you have with your tutor.

RESOURCES: The Manhattan Prep portal is very easy and straightforward to use. You can set up and take infinite quizzes online and even specify them to subjects you want to test. My instructor would put together a plan for the week as well as assign me relevant problems to go through and then we would address them at our next session. My tutor also worked with me to set up an error log (which I blew off during the class). My one big regret is that I wasn't keeping an error log all along! It was SO helpful and really helped us hone down what subjects I was weak in.

COURSE SET UP: The best thing about having a private tutor is that it's flexible and that you can jump around doing whatever subject is relevant for you. I met with my tutor maybe once or twice a week for 2 hours at a time.

INSTRUCTOR: My instructor was incredibly helpful. I really don't think I could have gotten my score without him. He also really helped me narrow down what I needed to do to get to the score I wanted and he was very honest with me on what I needed to work on.

CLASSES: I'm not sure if every instructor does it the same (I assume not!) but at least for my sessions, my tutor and I would make a list of goals, go through problems, talk through problems, then log errors in the error log and write reflections on what we learned (the overarching lessons).

Read More


190 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for Manhattan Prep GMAT